crossorigin="anonymous"> crossorigin="anonymous"> WGU Education Degree Reviews 2023|is A WGU Degree Worth It »

WGU Education Degree Reviews 2023|is a WGU Degree Worth it

WGU Education Degree Reviews

WGU Education Degree Reviews

Western Governors University (WGU) is a nonprofit, online university founded in 1997 by 19 U.S. governors. It offers a variety of bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in the fields of education, business, information technology, and healthcare.

Overall, WGU has received positive reviews for its flexibility and affordability. Many students appreciate the ability to study at their own pace and the support they receive from faculty and mentors. The school has also received high marks for its focus on practical, real-world learning and its strong emphasis on student success.

However, some students have raised concerns about the coursework’s difficulty level, the effectiveness of the online learning platform, and the need for in-person support and resources.

It is worth noting that the quality of an education program can vary depending on the individual student’s experience and goals. Suppose you are considering enrolling in a degree program at WGU. In that case, it is important to research the specific program you are interested in and talk to current and former students to understand what to expect.

WGU Education Degree Reviews

Wendy H.

November 9, 2022

WGU Provides a Time-Efficient and Cost-Effective Path to Success!

As an independent and self-motivated individual, WGU’s RN to BSN was perfect for me! With WGU’s competency-based learning and the vast majority of the classes being flexible and self-paced, I was able to conveniently go to school full-time online while simultaneously working as a full-time hospital nurse; completing my BSN degree in under a year. I saved a lot of money, since WGU is very reasonably priced and charges per semester, rather than per credit hour. The RN to BSN program was actually more challenging than I would have expected, but I got through it and graduated feeling like a much more knowledgeable and competent healthcare professional, who is proud to be a graduate of WGU!


Carrie

November 8, 2022

Leaning at your own pace anytime…

Leaning at your own pace anytime 24-hours a day. No required classes to attend in person or virtually. Helpful lessons. Go as quickly or slowly as needed.


Michael Schurdell

November 8, 2022

Stop procrastinating and get educated at WGU today!

Education made easy for any schedule and multiple learning types. At an affordable cost. People cannot say I don’t have time to get a degree. I was able to complete my Masters in eight months with hard work and perseverance. It is not a give me but is possible for anyone. Stop procrastinating and get educated today at WGU!!


Peter Van Mondfrans

November 8, 2022

I have earned two degrees through WGU

I have earned two degrees through WGU. I love the school and the excellent programs offered. I have had a fantastic experience with both of my programs and look forward to potentially continuing on for a second Master’s degree.


Karen Thornton

November 8, 2022

Great experience

My experience at WGU was incredible. Instructors and my mentor were readily available when I needed help, plus IT tech support. The program was self paced and affordable. I would highly recommend WGU for anyone to further their educational opportunities.


Meg Walch

November 3, 2022

Great experience

The support from my program mentor, course instructors, and support services (IT help desk and Library—you’re my heroes!) was top notch. I never felt alone in this process. The classes and material were relevant and well organized. Material was challenging—as to be expected in college level learning. That being said, there were so many resources to help answer any questions.


Salo

November 3, 2022

Great DIY experience through WGU

I had a great experience through WGU for my BS in Computer Science. My enrollment process was a bit rocky as I got handed off to a new enrollment counselor that didn’t seem to be on the same “wavelength” with me like my original one and was trying to push back my start date instead of letting the transcript eval team do their work and get my transfers all done. My program mentor was awesome and worked really well with me as I accelerated through the program. Would definitley do it again!


Helen Shih

November 2, 2022

WGU has a great program for MSN and…

WGU has a great program for MSN and taught me a lot! I finished in about 2 years, including taking a 3 month sabbatical due to life circumstances. The mentor I was assigned was fantastic as well. Overall a very well done program!


Not a new nurse

November 1, 2022

Great program

I really enjoyed the ease of the program. I felt the classes prepared me for the challenges coming in healthcare. The program advisor was very helpful to keep me on track.


Keisha Jackson

October 26, 2022

Exceptional in every way

Exceptional in every way


Ajit Kumar

October 26, 2022

Awesome experience !!!

The venue and arrangements, beginning with the check-in procedure, calling out names during convocation, and motivating remarks from dignitaries, provide an unforgettable experience.


Robin Garnett

October 26, 2022

Perfect for working adults…

WGU made finishing my degree so much easier with my crazy schedule. Being able to work at my pace and receive assistance with subjects I wasn’t as clear on was amazing. Highly recommend!

{Review Credits: wgu.edu}

My WGU Degree is Worthless

Understandably, you may have concerns about the value of your degree from Western Governors University (WGU). However, it’s important to remember that the value of a degree depends on many factors, including the individual’s efforts, the quality of the program, and the institution’s reputation.

WGU is a fully accredited university that has received recognition from various organizations, including U.S. News & World Report and Military Times. Accreditation is when an external organization evaluates a college or university to ensure that it meets certain quality standards. Accreditation is important because it can affect a degree’s transferability and can also be a factor in employers’ decisions to hire graduates.

In addition, WGU has a competency-based approach to education, which allows students to move through their studies at their own pace and earn credit for what they already know. This approach can be particularly beneficial for working professionals and other adult learners with prior knowledge and experience in their field of study.

It’s also important to note that the value of a degree can vary depending on the individual’s career goals and the job market. While a degree from any institution does not guarantee employment or success, it can provide a foundation for further education and career development. If you have concerns about your degree or career prospects, consider seeking career counselling or talking to a career coach or mentor for guidance.

Are WGU Teaching Degrees Respected?

Western Governors University (WGU) is a regionally accredited online university that offers bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in teaching and education. Like any university, the reputation and respectability of a degree from WGU will depend on the quality of the program and the academic achievements of the individual graduate.

WGU has received accreditation from the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU), which is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education as a regional accrediting agency. This means that WGU has been evaluated and found to meet the standards for quality and effectiveness set by the NWCCU. Accreditation is an important factor in determining the credibility and reputation of a university and its programs.

In general, a degree from an accredited university is likely to be respected by employers and other educational institutions. However, it’s always important to consider the specific program and institution you are considering, as well as your own career goals and objectives, when deciding on a degree program.

FAQs About WGU

Is WGU a good college?

Yes, Western Governors University (WGU) is a legitimate, accredited university. It is a nonprofit institution that was founded in 1997 by a group of U.S. governors and is accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). Accreditation is a process by which colleges and universities are evaluated by an independent organization to ensure that they meet certain standards of quality and are able to offer a high-quality education to their students.

WGU offers a range of undergraduate and graduate degree programs in business, education, information technology, healthcare, and other fields. The university has received positive reviews for its flexible, competency-based education model and its student support services, including academic advising and tutoring.

If you are considering attending WGU, it’s always a good idea to check that the university is accredited by a recognized accrediting agency. This will help ensure that the education you receive is of high quality and that your degree will be recognized by other colleges and universities.

Do employers hire WGU graduates?

Yes, employers hire graduates from Western Governors University (WGU). WGU is a regionally accredited, online university that offers degree programs in a variety of fields, including business, education, health professions, information technology, and nursing. WGU has a strong reputation for offering high-quality, flexible, and affordable education, and many employers value the skills and knowledge that WGU graduates bring to the workforce.

WGU graduates have gone on to work in a variety of industries and organizations, including Fortune 500 companies, government agencies, non-profits, and small businesses. If you are a WGU graduate and are seeking employment, you may want to consider targeting your job search to organizations that are known to hire WGU graduates or that have a history of hiring from WGU’s specific degree programs. You can also consider networking with alumni or reaching out to career services at WGU for assistance with finding job opportunities.

How much do WGU Teachers Make?

The salary of a teacher who graduated from Western Governors University (WGU) will depend on a variety of factors, including the location of the school where they are teaching, the grade level they are teaching, their level of experience, and their level of education. According to data from the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), the median salary for public school teachers in the United States was $61,660 per year in 2019-2020. However, teacher salaries can vary significantly by state and by school district. For example, according to the National Education Association (NEA), the average teacher salary in 2020-2022 ranged from a low of $57,400 in Mississippi to a high of $133,596 in New York.

In addition to their base salary, teachers may also be eligible for additional pay or benefits, such as health insurance, retirement plans, and professional development opportunities. It is important to note that teacher salaries may also be affected by factors such as the cost of living in a particular area and the availability of funding for education. If you are a WGU graduate who is interested in teaching, it is a good idea to research the salary and benefit packages offered by schools in the area where you are considering working. You can also speak with current teachers and education professionals to get a better understanding of what to expect in terms of compensation.